Leaving on a Jet Plane

18 Sep

Tomorrow I leave my kiddos and husband at home and board a plane with my aunt, bound for London.  I’m hoping to blog and post pictures as I go.

Does anyone have suggestions on restaurants or tourist-y type places to visit?  We are going to the Jane Austen Festival in Bath one day to have tea (which I’m super excited about).  I packed enough Austen novels to fill an entire carry on.

Hope to see you all soon.  🙂

Love from across the pond,

Rebecca

P.S. Sami, I’m really going to try and get a picture of me “in the map” just for you!  Who knows? Maybe I’ll get to see Fergie! (The real one, not the gal from Black Eyed Peas)

5 Responses to “Leaving on a Jet Plane”

  1. Stephanie September 18, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    No private jokes! ‘Splain…

  2. Cheryl September 18, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    Have a great time, I’m really looking forward to your posts! I have some friends living in London, I shall inquire about sights to see on facebook.

  3. caseyloro21 September 18, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    If you do go to Oxford, you need to eat at On The Hoof!!
    It’s my absolute favorite sandwich shop, owned by a couple of very sweet Brazilian women, I think I ate there every day for 6 months. Get the “Cajun Chicken Panini” …. and bring me back one.

  4. tanyasue September 18, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    Oooooooh!! I’m so jealous!!! I desperately wanted to visit Bath went I went to England last fall. My husband, however, was not into it, so we did a ton of fun tourist-y stuff.

    My recommendation: make sure you hit Windsor Castle. It’s totally worth it! The village and everything is just so delightful. We spent a whole day there and LOVED it.

    The best place we ate was a little (but expensive) restaurant in Notting Hill. It was right next to the park … Oh, I wish I could remember what it was called! I am no help at all, am I? 🙂 The other really great place to eat was called “Inn the Park.” It’s a sweet indoor/outdoor cafe within walking distance of Buckingham Palace. I had the ultimate caramelized onion and goat cheese tart there. I still dream about it and search, almost daily, for the recipe. lol.

    I hope you have a FABULOUS time!!!!

  5. Sami September 18, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    You are such a dork! And it would be AWESOME if you could find a pop up map! And either Fergie would be cool. Steph, it’s a Friends reference of course!!! Joey had to “get in the map” so he’d know where to go 🙂 And then he met Fergie while he was wearing the crazy England hat. It’s HILARIOUS!!!

Leave a Reply

