My Favorite

29 Sep

Today in school our verse for memorization (for the boy) is this:

But God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8 (ESV)

A while ago my son asked me what my favorite verse was.  I always have a hard time answering that question.  I’m not good at making on the fly decisions.

But this verse…it’s the one.

Because even though I’m:

a liar

fearful

angry

impatient

unloving

ungrateful

disobediant

…and so many other things…

He loves me.

He’s redeemed me.

I’m forgiven.

And He has shown me through the work of His Son.

I’m declared righteous because of Jesus. The Father looks at me and sees Him.

That’s why Romans 5:8 is my favorite.

What’s yours?

3 Responses to “My Favorite”

  1. tanyasue September 29, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    My favorite verses change depending on my station in life, but the tried-and-true favs are Romans 8:38-39.

    “For I am convinced that neither life nor death … nothing in heaven or on earth can separate me from the love of Jesus Christ our Lord.”

    Not even me.

    • Rebecca September 29, 2010 at 2:35 pm #

      “Not even me.” I like that.

  2. Stephanie September 29, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    For the past few years it’s been (as you already probably know) John 8:32:

    “You shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

Leave a Reply

