Fear Not

26 Oct

“Look unto Christ; fear not.  There is no stumbling when a man walks with his eyes up to Jesus.  He that looked at the stars fell into the ditch; but he that looks at Christ walks safely.” Charles Spurgeon

For so long I carried fear.  The yoke was heavy around my neck.  It became the friend who wouldn’t leave, outstaying it’s welcome for years…

Little things, really…They seemed so innocent at first: Why wouldn’t I be worried about my children getting hurt?  It’s what a good mother would do. Make sure and say all of the right things.  You want everyone to like you. You had better go on another diet.  Your husband may stop loving you. Don’t get in that car.  You know you’re not a great driver, just think what could happen…

It kept going and going until I couldn’t see the light of Truth anymore and for a while I let the deceiver win, because when you aren’t fully trusting in the One who holds you in the palm of His hand,  your heart gets tired.

But He is faithful when we are not and once again He draws me back to His side with the gentle wooing of His word.

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” Matthew 11:28-30

With a repentant heart, I asked and forgiveness was granted, washing me clean with precious grace and mercy.

What freedom there is in being yoked to Jesus! All my sins and grief to bear…

Now friend, what about you? He wants you; he’s wooing you. Will you listen?


2 Responses to “Fear Not”

  1. Reagan October 26, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Yes, I will listen….

  2. stephanieswalk October 27, 2010 at 2:01 am #

    “…because when you aren’t fully trusting in the One who holds you in the palm of His hand, your heart gets tired.”

    So true. Love this, Becca.

Leave a Reply

