Are You Thirsty?

4 Nov

I’ve started placing my bible on top of my computer. It’s a little thing, I know, but:

For a season my routine had changed and instead of reading the Word with my coffee I was scrolling through my Google Reader and checking up on email.  I meant to get to my bible but by the time I reached for it, the little people were ready to start school.  We study Him together in the mornings and I teach of Him and His sweet promises but I just wasn’t feeling them.  My spirit was dry, and tired, and…

So, I grew sad, and melancholy, and for the first time in my life felt the chains of a depressed spirit. I cried to my husband. I cried to my sister. I cried to everyone but Him, you know, the One who breaks the chains. 

Wouldn’t life be simpler if we always ran to Him first?

My girl’s scripture for memorization is : “If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink. ” John 7:37b (ESV)    And as I read with her and repeated the verse over and over, I realized that I had forgotten some things:

He meets me where I am.  His is enough. He is sufficient. His water never runs dry.  Though my spirit fails me, He will not.

Come, drink, believe Him, and “Out of his heart will flow streams of living water.” John 7:38 (ESV)


3 Responses to “Are You Thirsty?”

  1. reagan November 4, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

    I so relate!

  2. Candace Chaney November 4, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    Oh, but it would. If only we would do that every single time!!!!

  3. stephanieswalk November 5, 2010 at 7:38 am #

    YES!

Leave a Reply

