My “A Game”

15 Nov

Jesus doesn’t need my “A Game.”

J.R. Vasser tweeted this statement yesterday. At first I glossed over the sentence not really paying attention but as I scrolled through; it kept coming back…

Is that what I think, especially on days like Sunday? Do I act like Jesus needs me (and my family) to be “on” all of the time?  Do I place expectations of perfection on myself to the point where I can never measure up?  Yes…

But does Jesus, the embodiment of grace, want anything from me but brokenness? Oh Lord, being broken is hard. It makes me vulnerable and susceptible to hurt.

And He whispered, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

So that I can be like the apostle Paul:  “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly for my weakness, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.” taken from 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

For when I am weak, then I am strong…but only because of Him.

Today, I’m so thankful that Jesus doesn’t need my “A Game”.

Joining the gratitude community at The Holy Experience:

#25-31

Thursday afternoon coffee with a new friend

My house lit up with twinkle lights celebrating the season.

The smell of Thanksgiving and the anticipation of seeing family and friends.

Christmas crafts and old friends and their babies (that aren’t all so babyish anymore)

My sister, who makes me laugh without meaning to.

His Spirit, always reminding, always working, always convicting, always comforting.




2 Responses to “My “A Game””

  1. Kara Liechty November 15, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    What a lovely list. What a great reminder that Jesus doesn’t need our “A game”. And the perfectionism is really just an idol anyway, isn’t it?

    Blessings,
    kara

  2. stephanieswalk November 16, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Wonderful post, Becca.

Leave a Reply

