Because it’s your birthday

27 Dec

How do I love Thee?  Let me count the ways:

  1. For almost 12 years you have spent your birthday driving me (and the kids) to see extended family for Christmas get-togethers even though you are most definitely a homebody.
  2. Last year (on your birthday) I had surgery and your birthday got pushed aside.  You never complained.  Your children watched you love and serve your wife completely.
  3. You wrapped every single Christmas present this year and most of the gifts last year.  You are my hero.
  4. You do P90X with me so that I have a partner and accountability even though you really dislike it.
  5. You read C.S. Lewis to the kids before they go to sleep.
  6. You didn’t complain when I brought home the wrong number of candles for your cake/cookies/brownies.  (I promise, I know that you are thirty two, not thirty one.)  And you still blew them out, wrong number and all…
  7. You eat whatever I place in front of you, and you do so happily.
  8. You love babies, even when they are not our own, and you’ve never minded being spit-up on.
  9. For the last week I’ve barely been able to walk and you have taken care of everything around the house…everything. And you did those things while under extreme stress…with a smile. There was always a pillow under my foot and a cup of coffee on hand.  I’m honored to be your wife.
  10. You put up with my picture-taking.  🙂

Happy Birthday.

2 Responses to “Because it’s your birthday”

  1. Connie December 27, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    Chris, I agree… you are one wonderful husband to our dear daughter. We couldn’t ask for anyone better to father our grandchildren or husband our daughter.
    I hope that the night you and Becca get to go to that Mavs. game you remember that we all love you and appreciate how you give away your brithday every year for the happiness of your family.
    Happy Birthday to you and many, many more!!!!
    Our love.

  2. Stephanie December 28, 2010 at 5:36 pm #

    I am literally crying! Sniff.

Leave a Reply

