A Book List

29 Dec

What I’m reading at the start of the New Year:

  • Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts by Gerald Bridges

“Yet it is just as important to trust God as it is to obey Him.  When we disobey God we defy His authority and despise His holiness.  But when we fail to trust God we doubt His sovereignty and question His goodness.”

  • A Quest for More: Living for Something Bigger Than You by Paul David Tripp

“In a flash of irritation, a mom will treat the condition of her son’s bedroom as being more valuable than the community she is to have with her son, which is so essential to what God wants to do for this boy through her.”

  • In Christ Alone: Living the Gospel Centered Life by Sinclair Ferguson

“When we see salvation as a whole, its every single part is found in Christ, and so we must beware lest we derive the smallest drop from somewhere else.”  John Calvin

  • How Should We Then Live? The Rise and Decline of Western Thought and Culture by Francis A. Schaeffer

“A culture or individual with a weak base can stand only when the pressure on it is not too great.”  …  “Rome did not fall because of external forces such as the invasion by the barbarians.  Rome had no sufficient inward base; the barbarians only completed the breakdown-and Rome gradually became a ruin.”

So, what about you?  What’s on your reading list for the new year?

8 Responses to “A Book List”

  1. stephanieswalk December 29, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    For starters, “How Should We Then Live?” is on my list, among many others.

    Currently reading: “Indian Captive” by Lois Lensky, the fascinating true story of Mary Jemison. Just finished “Calico Captive”, another true story of a different captive family, which reads like a good novel. Also finished “The Diary of Mary Jemison”. All book basket books.

    Your list is wonderful. I hope to finish “What He Must Be” by Voddie Baucham, too.

    Love you. Need to catch up.

  2. Heather December 29, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    Too many! Pride and Prejudice. Tozer’s Pursuit of God. Big Susan and Twig by Elizabeth Orton Jones. The Japanese Twins by Lucy Fitch Perkins. Just to name a few.

    • Rebecca December 29, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

      Pursuit of God is on my list for the year. I haven’t bought it on my Kindle yet. P&P is one of my favorites…I re-read it this year when I was on the plane to London!

  3. Sami December 29, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    uh…I’m reading…Southern Living?

    • Rebecca December 29, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

      Whatev-you are totally reading other things…like some crazy psychology book by Freud or something… 🙂

  4. tanyasue December 30, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Good list! I’m still trying to knock out my list for 2010 … and 2009. 🙂 However, my 2011 list starts with “The Hole in the Gospel.” Our small group will be doing a study on it throughout the winter and spring. Also, a new book is being released tomorrow that I really look forward to reading. It’s called “Missional Mom: Living with Purpose at Home and in the World.” The title alone fits perfectly with my chosen theme for the new year.

    • Rebecca December 30, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

      I liked Hole in the Gospel. Our book club read it this year. I think I would really like Missional Mom…I may have to check that out tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

