Curve balls

26 Jan

I’ve talked about living like we have an inheritance and how that is to be my theme for this year.  Looking ahead to what He has already promised while living in His grace moment by moment…

But sometimes life throws you a curve ball.

And you know, curve balls are just hard to catch.  You can’t always predict where they are going to end up and when you miss, it seems that everyone else has scored but you.

Can I say that I don’t really care for them, the curve balls of life? I know in my head that they make us stronger and a better player, but in my heart I really want to be in control of the game or be the someone who knocks it out of the park.

That’s where I’ve been this past year and if I’m completely honest it’s where I still find myself part of the time.

But today I read:

“In him we have obtained an inheritance, having been predestined according to the purpose of him who works all things according to his will, so that we who were the first to hope in Christ might be to the praise of his glory.” Ephesians 1:11-12 (ESV)

I was so encouraged.  I can’t even begin to tell you.  The fact that He planned our inheritance in advance and that He is working all things according to His will…

It makes my heart sing.

Be encouraged, friends.

He’s there.

He holds everything with His promise.

And you know what?

Those curve balls don’t look quite as scary as before because I am not the one who has to catch them or hit the home-run.

Thank you, Jesus.

For freedom Christ has set us free; stand firm therefore, and do not submit again to the yoke of slavery.” Galatians 5:1 (ESV)

3 Responses to “Curve balls”

  1. Reagan January 26, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I’ve had my share of curve balls lately…they’re coming faster than I can cath ’em! But I am HIS and HE is mine!

  2. Stephanie January 27, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    Thanks, Becca. ♥

  3. spaghettipie February 2, 2011 at 10:27 pm #

    So appreciate you perspective. Sometimes it’s hard for me to remember that even though it feels like a curve ball (out of left field!) to me, it’s still within His plan. Thanks for your authenticity!

Leave a Reply

