Even in the Desert

22 May

photo

 

Even though the fig trees have no blossoms, and there are no grapes on the vines;

even though the olive crop fails, and the fields lie empty and barren;

even though the crops die in the fields, and the cattle barns are empty, 

yet I will rejoice in the Lord!  I will be joyful in the God of my salvation!

The Sovereign Lord is my strength! He makes me as sure-footed as the deer, 

able to tread upon the heights.”           Habakkuk 3:17-19

Even in the desert, He is good.  He causes manna to fall from the heavens and water to spring out of rock.  His promises are not forgotten; He is the Promise Keeper.

There are days that I need to be reminded:

  • He is my sustainer.  John 6:35
  • He is my refuge.  Psalm 46:1
  • In Him is life.   John 14:6

 

So today I’m choosing to be thankful for a place in the desert, and sun-scorched skin – because He doesn’t leave us to wander alone.  He is living water.  He is hope.

“Look, I am about to do something new; even now it is coming.  

Do you not see it? Indeed, I will make a way in the wilderness, rivers in the desert.”   Isaiah 43:19

2 Responses to “Even in the Desert”

  1. adam bryant May 23, 2014 at 10:25 am #

    Rebecca, Thank You for sharing! May God bless your day!

  2. stephanieswalk May 27, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

    I love this post.

Leave a Reply

